I just can’t stop drawing

Eilean Donan Castle Lion - Trafalgar Square

 

Some times, just sometimes I can’t stop myself – I just keep drawing.  Over the past few days I’ve really started to think about making drawings that are not people but rather landscape.  This has always been a bit of a no go area for me as I always thought that was the dominion of the camera – a by product of making photographs for over 40 years.

I seemed to be having real problems with perspective when I tried to sketch/draw the real world. (Of course a landscape doesn’t necessary need to have a perspective but I feel it does – dam all those photographs!) However, the other day I was looking through some of my earliest sketch books and I realised that for so long I struggled with making the human face to look like a human face, let alone a likeness.  I didn’t give up and slowly things started to fall into place.   This is the approach I have started to take with landscapes and it appears to  have some results.  Of course the other thing I have started to do is really look – always important when trying to make a drawing!

So where all this will take me I don’t know.  I can’t see me becoming interested in making large scale landscape drawings as this will be entering the relm of my photographic practice.  However, if my other drawing practice is anything to go by who knows where this will take me?

Don’t stop Movin’ ….

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

