Project LV One – Day 98 – Working in the garden

20140730-IMG_2395 - 0001

I have a love/hate relationship with soft pastels.  Some years ago when I was new at this art business I bought myself a set of Sennelier soft pastels which are one of the best brands.  What could go wrong?  Well everything actually and I ended up with a very expensive pastel covering of the floor.  You see I have big hands and I just didn’t understand how lightly you had to use the pastels before they would crumble.  Disaster. This somewhat put me off soft pastels.

I didn’t seem to have the same problems with oil pastels which seemed to be able to deal with my heavy handedness (or perhaps I was just getting better?)  Anyway,  things started to change on the soft pastel front this year as I decided to attend a pastel art course.   This was rather fun and so I started to formulate an idea to one day once again try again with soft pastels.  Today was that day.

Natalie Portman - Pastel

I have learnt an awful lot from making this image.  Firstly I am a Conté man through and through.  By lucky happens chance I bought a set of Conté soft pastels today and they seemed to perfect for the way I work – in other words they are not too soft.  Secondly the colour of the underlying paper and it’s quality is very important.  Thirdly don’t give up.

I could go on but I won’t.  I’m really pleased with the results, I have much to work on but today has been a good day.

Silence is Easy.

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

