Project LV One – Day 101 – Tonal Range and a Frog

Stephen Fry - Tonal Range

Life is a whole series of unintended consequences or is that just me?   Continuing my Stephen Fry theme I decided to try once more make a pastel drawing of Mr Fry only it turned out to be a Conté sanguine pencil drawing!    So I sat down in the garden and started to draw only to realise that the tonal range of the pencil I was using was very similar to that of the paper I was drawing on.  This made the image really quite difficult to see unless you had good lighting – which I did until it started raining and I had retreat indoors.  After that it became quit difficult to actually see where I was going to make the next mark.  The consequence of all this was that the image you see above is a photoshop version of the original so I ended up with two images – none of which were the one I intended to make when I sat down at the start.

2014-08-01 - IMG_2423 - Common Frogtif - blog

The one creature who was happy that it rained yesterday was this frog.   As I was drawing I noticed out of the corner of my eye this frog hop into view and just sit on the step.  Oh the joys of working in the open air.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Art, Digital Painting, Project LV One and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

