Project LV One – Day 113 – Scribbles, Doodles and Sketches

Sketch of The Water Carrier of SevilleI once a day in hospital and in the bed next to me was an art lecturer and artist from a local art school.  We started to talk and I mentioned that I liked to draw and sketch which he took exception to.  I can’t remember exactly what his objection was for what which term but apparently you can only do one if you adopt a certain style or something.  This seemed rather prescriptive at the time but I wasn’t really bothered so I just let him have his little prejudice.  It later transpired that he was a bit of loose canon and was sacked from his post.

The only reason I mention this is because over the past few days all I have felt up to doing was scribbling, doodling and sketching.  I have no idea if there is any formal definition of either and I think it is pointless even if there was such a thing.  Fortunately I’m starting to recover from the bug that has struck me down for the last week but this won’t stop me scribbling, doodling and sketching because, well, nothing will as the tooth paste is well and truly out of the tube on that one (a metaphor too far?  Maybe).

Mel and Sue - Sketch - Outline

The Foot on the Hill

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project LV One – Day 113 – Scribbles, Doodles and Sketches

  1. David Manley says:

    Somebody must be feeling a bit better!

Leave a Reply

