Project LV One – Day 157 – The Point of No return

SP 028

It has been my experience that a point is reached with any painting that the internal contradictions are so great that you either say enough is enough or you scrap the whole thing and start again.  I feel I have reached that point with this painting.  It has been a very hard struggle to get here but boy has the journey been worth it.

Sam Combo 004

Sam Combo 003

The purpose of the painting was two fold;  Firstly, to try and make something approaching a likeness of the model I used – I’ve achieved that within reason – there are always things I would improve but that will come in the next painting – hopefully;  Secondly, to learn what it is like to take my time over a painting and really work the process, to learn lessons about the craft of painting.  Boy have a I learnt a great deal.  And the final bonus is that the photograph doesn’t do the painting any favours which is almost a back hand complement or perhaps I’m a crap photographer – not really the case.

This has taken almost two weeks on and off and it has been exhausting.  I need to recharge my batteries and do something completely different – I know I’ll go to Germany.

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Project LV One – Day 157 – The Point of No return

  1. David Manley says:

    Ho ho…nice work…and Germany…well I think I might tag along!

  2. Pingback: Project LV One – Day 171 – Presenting Mr and Mrs Grey | Simon's Blog

Leave a Reply

