Project LV One – Day 170 – Over Ambitious

Mr Grey 002

One of the many walls that I am hitting as I start this painting odyssey is being far too ambitious.  For years I have been able to create really moody images using photography and photoshop.  So naturally I’m attracted to such images when I come to painting.  The only problem is that they are at the very edge of my performance envelope.  The consequence is that I am having to work really hard to even get close to making an acceptable painting.  Now I know that I will benefit in the long term and yes I am learning a huge amount but boy is it a hard and painful road where my technique is always letting me down.

Nude Sketch

From time to time I have had to retreat back into my comfort zone and make little sketches to keep my morale up and remind myself that every day I am making progress.  Everyday new neural pathways are being laid down.  Every hour I spend trying to make this painting is another hour towards my 10,000 hours.

You’ve got be strong to be better.

 

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

