Project LV One – 172 – Still Life

Coconut

I hate still life.  There I’ve said it but I’m afraid it is true.  I find making a still life drawing very hard and in the end soul destroying.  I’m not a huge fan of still life paintings either – the number of Dutch master’s paintings I’ve skipped by is too many to remember.  They are brilliantly observed and painted or drawn but it isn’t my cup of tea.

So today in the art class we had to draw a coconut.  It was mind numbingly difficult and at the end all I felt was drained and a little disappointed.

Apples

In contrast I made some quick sketches of apple’s yesterday which I found really fun to make and I think have a lot more life.  Ok they don’t have the control of the drawn still life but I found them much more rewarding.

After Schiele

Whilst I had my pastels out, now there is a statement you don’t hear too often, I made another version of the Schiele painting and then finally I made a quick portrait.

Quick Pastel Portrait

Still the great thing about the still life exercise this morning was that it was something that I usually avoid so having to sit down and look at the coconut for two and half hours was worth while – even if I never do that again!

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

