Project LV One – Day 183 – Has it really been 6 months?

Mother Earth 004

They say a week is a long time in politics well for me the last 6 months seem to have been an eternity but here we are at the half way point of the Project LV One project.  To demonstrate how far I have travelled in the last six months here are three images I made back at the start of the process compared to the latest from the Mother Earth painting.  Actually look back at the reclining nude I painted I suddenly start to see some connection with what I am doing now.  Of course the model for that painting was more Rubens rather than mother earth.

Last night I decided to make mother earth pregnant after remaining the wonderful mother earth (?) deity figures made during the last iron age by people on the very edge of what was habitable in central and eastern Europe.  According to the text one thought about their use was that they may have been used to help the woman through birth, which is probably one of the most dangerous times in a woman’s life.  After reading this I had to make Mother Earth pregnant.

This whole process is pushing my painting ability to the edge of the envelope and I have to say I am surprised  how well it is going at the moment. However, if there is one lesson I can take from the last 6 months it is that  there is an awful long way to go so there is plenty of time for a mighty fall!

 

photo14

photo14

IMG_001396 IMG_001391

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

