Project LV One – Day 227 – Dr Who

freema agyeman - Martha Jones

Over the years I’ve watched more than my fair share of Doctor Who – in fact some of my first TV watching memories are of watching the Doctor.  So I guess the Doctor has been part of my life.  It has been much the same with my art.  From the earliest struggles (when are they going to end?) I have found inspiration in the Doctor.  So yesterday I got a notion into my head to make a combination of the drawings I’ve made over the years of the characters from the modern Doctor Who series.  After a bit of rummaging around I came up with 9 images which seemed to fit perfectly the bill.

Dr Who Combo - Export

Everything was perfect – 9 images in my favourite square format – great.  Then a sinking feeling hit me, where’s Freema Agyeman?  I could not explain why I hadn’t made a drawing of what I think is the most striking of all the Doctor’s companions.  I then panicked – could the reason be that, well, she wasn’t white?  I really hope not but I you can never discount such things and you must always confront them.  I actually think it is just more prosaic, I just didn’t think I could make a drawing that was good enough – I’m not sure the quick drawing I made this morning does the woman any justice but I’ll have to live with that.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

