Project LV One – Day 233 – I’m no van Eyck

Restoration Beauty

Sometimes I find, and I hope I’m not the only one, that I start something in haste, perhaps for a bit of light relief, that takes a life of its own.  I then find all the contradictions I have introduced at the very start to magnify until the whole thing gets totally out of control.  This drawing is a case in point.   It was meant to be a very rough and ready ketch of Natalie Portman, just a little doodle really and I didn’t bother to pay too much attention to such things as proportions and scale.  Then it started to get interesting and I tried to correct the problems I had introduced at the start and things just got worse and worse until you are left with?

So what is the answer?  Well I think it is a very compelling face.  A woman who appears very much in control of her own life.  A woman knows what it means to be a woman and rather likes it or is that just me projecting – probably.

19th century man

Just to show you what this drawing was supposed to turn out here is its companion piece – very cartoony and loose.

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project LV One – Day 233 – I’m no van Eyck

  1. Wendy Kate says:

    She looks beautiful and determined 🙂

  2. Guthlac says:

    Thanks, she does and I have to say I have a soft spot for her as she appears to be quite feisty

Leave a Reply

