Project LV One – Day 252 – The Winner Takes it All

Portrait of Woman in Ink

Abba are one of those bands that seem to divide opinion.  Back in the 1970’s I thought they were a great pop band and I still do.  The closest I ever got to the band was that I was almost run over by a limo in which they were travelling – but that is a whole different story in a whole different world.  My friend has always hated Abba for reasons I have never understood – something to do with a lack of guitars or something like that.  I have never understood that argument but we are all entitled to our opinion.

Portrait of Woman

You might think that there is some connection to the drawings but there really isn’t other than I am listening to Abba as I write this.  But I guess when all is said and done I have a dream that this is the name of the game because the winner takes it all.

Ha ha.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Project LV One – Day 252 – The Winner Takes it All

  1. Wendy Kate says:

    I like Abba too! (Drives my husband crazy….) 🙂 I was thinking that you were sketching Agnetha but maybe not!

    • Guthlac says:

      Nice idea but no this isn’t an ABBA related drawing. Abba seems to motivate more descent than any other group I know. I was watching a documentary the other night and it would seem that views were divided in Sweden at the time as well – many people feeling that they in some ways had sold out by being such a professional group. I’ve always liked ABBA all the way back to Waterloo at the Eurovision song contest back in the mid 70’s…this is making me feel really quite old!

  2. Andy says:

    There is definitely a certain amount of prejudice when it comes to Abba. Even back in the day when they were still together, when you hear of all the people who were closet fans, buying the records but hiding them in bags behind something more ‘cool’.
    I’m out the closet!

  3. Guthlac says:

    Never much of a closet person myself…always liked the music for what it was – great pop music. I know it is now considered much deeper now than it was then but I am one of those people who takes music very much at face value – unfortunately I seem to miss much of the deeper meanings. The only problem is I sold my collection years ago and haven’t bothered to replace them with digital versions and I have other things to spend my money on so I guess I will just have to Thank them for the Music/memories

Leave a Reply

