Project LV One – Day 259 – Watercolour

Donald Sutherland

At one level watercolour painting is the most amateur of art forms.  If you go around local art group exhibitions you will find time painting after painting made with watercolour.  However the idea that ‘watercolour’ should be an the preserve of the amateur is, of course, nonsense.  Most of the great artists over the centuries have  a catalogue of watercolour paintings and some have made the medium their own.

So into this wonderful swirl of of paintings I have decided to dip my toes.  Anyone who has spent anytime on YouTube know that there are countless video’s showing you how to make this type or that type of watercolour painting.  As usual I have decided to ignore them and try to muddle through.  These are two of my first efforts.

Woman with Red Legs

 

 

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Project LV One – Day 259 – Watercolour

  1. 7891samoth says:

    Great paintings.. Watercolor is an amateur medium? I never heard of that! Actually people often speak of it as one of the mediums that are quite hard to master. I do wonder why most of historys famous paintings are in oil and acrylics, though… I don’t concider watercolor neither better nor worse, but it’s just entirely different. It’s like mastering a new language and speaking in a new way..

    • Guthlac says:

      You are correct in questioning this…I see watercolour as very much an amateur medium in the sense that many amateur artists, this in itself is such a loaded concept that I have difficulty using it, seem to prefer this method of painting. This doesn’t mean what they are producing isn’t of value it just means that watercolour seems very popular amongst art groups and societies.

      As for the language metaphor I rather like this …the only problem is that I am really REALLY bad at languages so lets hope this is not an omen.

  2. David Manley says:

    Damn good first results! I think this is going to be a good medium for you…probably because the tonal side of it is one of your strengths…look forward to seeing more.

    • Guthlac says:

      It will be an interesting journey beyond that I have no idea where this is taking me…as you well know I have loads of half baked ideas that go no where

      Talk soon

Leave a Reply

