Project LV One – Day 337 – Joining the Dots

Packhorse Bridge - Enderby

Every now and then I wonder what the hell have I done with my life?  I guess we all do from time to time.  However, there is one object that has come to dominate my life in a way that I really couldn’t imagine.  The object in question is this, a medieval packhorse bridge over the River Soar.  For most people as they rush by in their cars they probably wouldn’t even notice the bridge.  However, I have spent more than seven years trying to answer one simple question – why is the bridge there?

There is a straightforward answer to this, to allow pack horses to cross the River Soar but this doesn’t really come close to answering the question.  As I started to explore this question other questions started to arise and from this I started my historical research which is nowhere near complete.   The quest for the answer has taken me all over the english midlands and all the way over to the medieval port of Boston in Lincolnshire.

One day I feel I will be able to truly finish the quest but that day is a long long way away.

 

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Project LV One and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

