Watching Rembrandt

Rembrandt sketch No 02 Rembrandt sketch

 

Whilst watching the excellent second Exhibition on Screen documentary about Rembrandt I found myself making a few ink sketches.  I know this is crazy but I deliberately avoided the exhibition myself as these mega shows tend to be  a huge bun fight with little or no chance to engage with the works themselves.  It is far better to wait and find the selected works for yourself when they are back at their institution.  A great example of this is the half hour or so I spent with the Rembrandt’s at the Scottish National Gallery almost on my own.  Of course I am fortunate enough to be able to do this but I think it is worth the effort – and money.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

