Thinking about Coal

Homage to Titian

Left side right side…sometimes I feel both hemispheres are pulling my brain apart.  I think I might already have mentioned that I only have certain RAM available for any mental tasks I might wish to complete in a day and this over the past few days has been consumed almost fully by my interest in coal.  A strange consumption I know but we all have them and before you start to fill your own imagination with even stranger thoughts let me explain I have been researching the medieval coal industry rather than any other obsession that might have come to mind.

As with all subjects the more you look the more you see and also the more you realise you just don’t know or see which makes one double one’s effort to see.  This feedback loop runs, as all feedback loops do until something happens to stop it and slowly but surely it consumes more and more resources.  After a few days of this I have had enough and picked up my pencils again for some light relief and let whichever hemisphere is fascinated by coal take a bit of a break.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Art, History and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

