Back to the future

Monotone Nude

I guess we all must reach that point sometime in our lives.  The point when just because something is new doesn’t actually mean you are getting a better experience or in this case better software.  Over the past 12 months (or is that 2 years ?) I have been subscribing to the Adobe Software Cloud and for a start everything was just fine.  I down loaded my latest version of Photoshop and Lightroom and I was happy with life.  However as I started using each piece of software I noticed that nothing really had changed from the older versions, well at least in the part of the software that I use anyway.  Then the whole system stopped working and I was faced with the prospect of having to contact adobe or loose the use of the latest software.  Fortunately the contract was up for renewal and I took the decision to revert back to the older software and you know what I’m just as productive as before.  I had a similar experience not too long ago when I started using a copy of MS Access which is almost 20 years old and it still did everything I wanted of it.

For sometime now software manufacturers have been struggling to come up with new reasons for you to update to their latest versions.  We really don’t need this extra widget or that wonderfully useless tool.   Apps have shown the way whereby you cut back to the bone and then you buy just the bits you want but even here they suffer from bloatware – especially if the first version was so successful.

So the moral of this story, if there is one, is that just because something is new doesn’t make it better and we have reached the point in software and hardware whereby what we already have is fine and unless things go bang it will be a very longtime before we need to replace either.  Apple are starting to find this out only too quickly as the iPhone reaches cash cow status having left the star far far behind.  (Sorry about the management jargon…old habits!)

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Art, Digital Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

