Visiting old haunts

It has been almost 6 years to the day since I made the journey over to Bempton Cliffs and a awful lot has changed for me and the reserve.  Back then I was just starting the metamorphosis from photographer to what I am today where photography isn’t my only artistic output.

The reserve itself has also changed a great deal.  The RSPB have clearly spent an awful lot of money on the place and have improved the facilities for visitors immeasurably.  However, the thing that everyone comes for is the spectacle of the birds and that has changed in the last 6 years .

I just couldn’t resist the urge to try and capture some images whilst I was there and the best of what I could produce with the very limited equipment I now use are below.   If you ever wondered what thousands of pounds worth of camera equipment allows you to do then compare what I made yesterday with what I produced in May 2011.  Actually given the limited equipment I don’t think I did too bad yesterday.

2011

Wren Puffin Gannet

2016

Gannets Nesting Gannet-2 Gannet by Cliffside

 

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

