I’ve got a plan

Calke Abbey Garden through Gateway Scarecrow - Calke Abbey Sundial

I was recently described by some who knows me as a very unusual early adaptor, by this she meant that given my age I know an unnatural amount about tech, internet et al.  I guess that may well be correct as I’ve been messing around on the Internet, well actually the world wide web since late 1995 (I’ve just Googled me and found my first trace has a date stamp of Sun, 26 May 1996 21:33:25 UT which of course was before Google even existed!).  Back then it was all very new and not that easy to navigate, I even bought a Yellow pages for web sites as a book!

Anyway the point of all this rambling is that I have been here for sometime and now I have joined another trend, music from the cloud.  This is hardly early adaptor behaviour but I refused to get involved with the file sharing all those years ago  a la Napster because, call me old fashioned, but I believe that an artist should get paid for their labour.  I know that the ones who got burnt the most were the record companies but without them then much of the music from the past 100 years would not have been recorded.  But now I’m hooked on possibly the least cutting edge of these services, Amazon Prime Music.  Their library is pretty dated but seeing as that could be a good description of me it doesn’t matter.  Equally, the sound quality is awful even compared to the copies I have the same music in my fruit based music system but none of these bother me as the playlist unearth music I haven’t heard in years and reminds me of a time when I wasn’t an early adaptor.  How sad is that?

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

