Bookends

linda-eva naomi

Strange bookends I know but the deaths of David Bowie and George Michael make 2016, for me, more poignant.   Yes we have a had the political upheavals of Brexit and the election of Trump but these really are something for the future, Bowie’s and Michael’s death are here and now.  Of the two the recent death of George Michael has been much more powerful because he was actually younger than I am.  I grew up with David Bowie.  I bought Ziggy Stardust when it first came out, I think, and it formed the musical back drop to my youth yet Bowie was always this man, somehow removed from anything I might ever know.   George Michael was somewhat different.   He was the fresh faced star as I was the older man and so my interaction with his music was different, more removed.

Both men will be missed by their fans but of course much more keenly by their close friends and family.  Perhaps the one small comfort the grieving can take is that both men left a legacy of creative genius in their own different yet complementary way.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Apple Pencil, Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

