Ironstone Benefice

manor-house pathway winter-tree

2016 is sooo last year.   2016 was all about Playground of the Midlands 2017 is going to be about Ironstone Benefice.  Before you wonder what on earth I am going on about let me explain.   My good friend and I are slowly visiting all the parishes mentioned in a series of guidebooks created by the district councils of Leicestershire:  2016 was Charnwood Borough Council’s guidebook called ‘ Playground of the Midlands’; 2017 will be the Melton Borough Council’s guidebook called ‘Paint the town red’.   This was going to be the name of the project but this morning whilst walking Scalford I saw on the notice board outside the church that it was a member of the Ironstone Benefice which I thought was a much better name for the project as it reflects much of the character of the Borough.   It was only when I got home I found out that I hadn’t read the notice correctly and it should have been the Ironstone Villages Benefice but it was too late the name had stuck and so I am not changing things now.  (The Ironstone Benefice refers to a similar collection of churches in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds who I am assuming got the name first.   However, as the villages of Melton Borough largely sit on the same rocks as the Oxfordshire Cotswolds I think the name still works – I wonder if this will causes problems further on down the line?   Only time will tell.)

After a shaky start this morning I managed to create three images from the photo’s I captured which actually accurately reflect the day we had.  Before I go I thought it would be useful to mention where we eat today – The Sands Cafe and Deli at Long Clawson is well worth visiting if you are in the area.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Ironstone Beniface, Photography, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

