Searching for inspiration…and a camel

eva nude-study rai

I am in one of those empty periods at the moment when I find myself forcing some drawing out of my reluctant hands.   Since the New Year I have found that my output has almost dried up.  This sense of despair (I know I am a bit of a drama queen) has only been exaggerated by going through my 2016 yearbook which seemed packed with image that I feel really quite proud of.   But this year has been a real struggle.  I know things will change – they always do. As anyone who has been a follower of this blog long enough will testify every few months I have a moan like this then I am off to the races again.  Perhaps this is part of the process I have to go through to rekindle the spark of creativity that I feel is missing at the moment.  Which brings me to the Camel.

a-camel

In an effort to force something out of myself last night I decided to make a five minute drawing of a camel.  Why a camel?  You may very well ask and I haven’t got the first clue as to why I choose the animal other than I was watching a TV programme about the British in India and there was camel mentioned.  Pathetic I know but such is the way that my kleptomaniac mind works.  So here he or she is (I’m going to call her she) and everytime I look at her I smile.  I am a simple creature at heart.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Art, drawing, Graphic Art, ink drawing, monochrome and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

