Holding up the sky

I’ve had time to sleep on the Tony Cragg exhibition at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and I still think that this is one of the most interesting exhibition I have been to in some time.  I am not sure why that might be, although two competing themes might have something to do with it:  First I knew nothing about his work – nothing – so I was taken aback by the quality and the quantity from not only the sculptures but the drawings that were the start of the creative process.  The second reason is far more personal – I grew up with a master upholsterer as a father so I came to appreciate just what effort went into making something look so enticing.  There is a video at the end of the indoor exhibition space   and watching the huge wood sculptures being made brought back memories of my father working in his workshop – although it was not on the scale of Cragg’s!

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Sculpture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holding up the sky

Leave a Reply

