Pushing the envelope

Last night I watched a video about what a DIT is and I found it fascinating just the amount of care and attention that goes into producing digital video images before it is reworked in post production.  One of the key skills that a DIT brings to the production is providing advice on the correct technical equipment to use to capture the images for the movie/advert etc.   This struck me this morning whilst I was chasing pollinators in the garden this morning.   The 24/120mm equivalent lens on my Sony camera body is great as an all rounder lens but when the envelope is pushed you suddenly realise that you need better equipment.  The above photograph is a case in point.   Great photo as far as it goes but when you compare it to  an image I captured in the garden some time ago using top end pro photo gear you see my point.

Of course I could spend the money on a macro lens for my current camera, which is light years better than the Canon 1D Mk 3 I used back in 2010, but it really wouldn’t be worth it given my current photographic practice.  Nonetheless to get the best photo you need the best equipment – something that a DIT would have advised I am sure.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Gardens, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

