I challenge the mighty…

I guess we all have different memories of National Trust properties when we were growing up.  For me it is a total absence of ever having visited a National Trust property .  Whether that is true or not I have no objective way of checking.  However, what I do remember is being taken to see Staunton Harold reservoir being built and slowly filling up with water.  I was not aware that just to the left of the car car park was one of the strangest stately homes in Britain – but then again I suspect I wasn’t the only one.   It wasn’t until Calke Abbey was given to the National Trust to look after in the 1980’s that the full strangeness of the house became apparent.

I have been around the house once or twice and once you’ve seen one stuffed animal you’ve seen enough – unfortunately Calke has an abundance of the things which doesn’t really do anything for me.   The parkland around the house however is another matter and I find myself visiting the parkland again and again. (Also writing about those visits a lot in this blog.)    Yesterday was just the latest in a long line of visits and I can state with out fear of contradiction that Calke Abbey is my favourite National Trust property – although the Farne Islands are up there as well along with….you get the idea.

About Guthlac

An artist, historian and middle aged man who'se aim in life is to try and enjoy as much of it as he can
This entry was posted in Macro, Photography, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

